Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Dairy, Soy, and Wheat…not in my diet!

on October 15, 2014

I gave birth to my 4th child just over 2 months ago. My first son! I was so excited to breastfeed him. I was unable to breastfeed my first daughter. My 2nd daughter was breastfed until almost a year old. I had never heard of extended breastfeeding at the time (breastfeeding beyond one year). So when my 3rd daughter was born last year, I planned on letting her self-wean. I had done so much research during my pregnancy with her, and everything I read talked about the many benefits of extended breastfeeding. Even the World Health Organization recommends breastfeeding at least 2 years, and then until both mom and child are ready to stop. (http://www.who.int/topics/breastfeeding/en/)

My plans took a turn when I found out that I had conceived again just 2 months after my daughter was born. I quickly realized the enormous amount of calories I would have to consume to not only maintain a healthy pregnancy, but exclusively nurse an infant as well. Try as I might, my body just couldn’t keep up. My milk began to dry up soon after I became pregnant. I suspect it was mostly due to my daughter disliking the change in taste of my milk. For whatever reason it happened, I decided that as much as I didn’t want to, I needed to supplement with formula. By the time she was 4 1/2 months old, she was completely drinking formula.

Fast forward to the birth of my son. I was determined from day 1 to exclusively breastfeed him as long as possible. Everything was going well when, within the first week, he began developing an eczema rash all over his body. Then, he began spitting up a lot and having crying spells where he was inconsolable. He also had chronic sinus congestion. I did what I always do and began researching. I realized quickly that his symptoms fit with me having an overactive letdown and/or him having one or more food sensitivities. (http://www.ncpeds.org/resource-library-articles/forceful-letdown-or-over-active-letdown-and-over-supply, http://kellymom.com/health/baby-health/food-sensitivity/) The most common food sensitivities are dairy, soy, wheat, corn, eggs, and peanuts. (http://kellymom.com/health/baby-health/food-sensitivity/#suspectfoods) So I began with dairy elimination, especially considering that my husband is lactose intolerant. My son’s eczema began clearing up right away, and he began spitting up less and sleeping better. I was so happy! Giving up dairy was incredibly hard. I love milk, cheese, yogurt, ice cream… pretty much all things dairy. I also couldn’t believe how many products contained dairy (I’m still realizing some of them!). Once the dairy was out of my system, I realized he was reacting to something else, too. So I decided to take the next step and eliminate soy. I soon realized that soy is in EVERYTHING. Soybean oil is in nearly every packaged food! I began eating more fresh vegetables and fruit, but I also began eating more wheat products to compensate for the lack of other options. So a few days ago, I decided it was time to stop eating wheat as well, after a few nights of inconsolable crying.

I’ve been told that I’m awesome for being willing to go on such a strict diet in order to continue breastfeeding my son. I don’t feel I’m doing anything special, though. I’m not against the use of formula when necessary. I myself fed 2 babies with formula. However, I do believe breastmilk is superior to formula, because we can’t fully replicate the nutrition. Not only that, but breastmilk contains important antibiotic, anti viral, and anti fungal properties that are tailored to the specific environment the mother and baby live in. (http://www.askdrsears.com/topics/feeding-eating/breastfeeding/why-breast-is-best/nutrient-nutrient-why-breast-best, http://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/breastfeeding/Pages/Breastfeeding-Benefits-Your-Baby’s-Immune-System.aspx, http://www.llli.org/nb/nbmarapr06p82.html, http://www.cabdirect.org/abstracts/20093189165.html;jsessionid=7985822FA9E27E877365EC7442395704)

I began to realize that in eliminating dairy, soy, and wheat from my diet, I was forced to add much healthier food choices. So in a way, doing this for my son is actually me in a huge way. I will be curious to see how little I like or want the foods I’m not eating now.

I wanted to keep a log of everything I ate and drank for 24 hours to see just how much my eating habits have changed. And to encourage other moms who are facing an elimination diet, that it is possible to eat enough and also eat food that tastes good! So here is my log from yesterday:

-1 glass of water
-1/2 organic banana
-1 cup coffee with chocolate almond milk and raw sugar
-3 scrambled organic, cage-free eggs cooked in coconut oil, served with natural ketchup
-1 glass of water
-1 cup coffee with chocolate almond milk and raw sugar
-1 glass of water
-freshly made corn chips with fresh salsa
-1 1/2 kiwis
-1 glass of water
-10 large cherry tomatoes
-2 glasses of water
-2 slices turkey lunch meat (no artificial preservatives, hormones, etc) wrapped in 1 organic romaine lettuce leaf with mustard
-1 organic apple
-2 glasses of water
-meatballs, orange bell peppers, mandarin oranges, pineapple chunks, and green onions with sweet and sour sauce, served over red rice (recipe will follow!)
– 1 glass of water
-more of that yummy dinner, because I scarfed down the first serving a couple hours ago so I could take care of the kids!
-1 glass of water
-1 glass of apple cider
-1 glass of water
-popcorn, cooked in coconut oil, topped with pink Himalayan salt
-1 glass of red wine
-more chips and salsa
-1 glass of water

Sweet ‘n’ Sour Meatballs:

-1 package ground pork sausage (I used Italian flavored)
-1 egg
-about 1/2 cup almond flour (or bread crumbs, if you’re not on an elimination diet)
-about 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
-about 1 teaspoon onion powder

Mix all the ingredients, form into about 25 balls, fry in coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. 

While the meatballs are frying, start cooking rice. (I used red rice, it was my first time trying it. Very yummy!) I used 4 cups water and 2 cups rice.

Once the meatballs are browned, reduce heat to medium and add about 1/8 cup diced green onions, 2 diced bell peppers, 1 can pineapple chunks (including juice), and 1 can mandarin oranges (drained). Stir well and let simmer a few minutes. Then add about 2 tablespoons ketchup and about 1/2 cup orange juice. I also added a splash of Worcestershire sauce (normally I would add some soy sauce). Mix well, then spoon out about 1/2 cup of the sauce into a coffee mug or something similar (I used my glass 2-cup measuring cup). Add about a tablespoon of corn starch and whisk thoroughly. Push some of the meatballs and vegetables aside in the pan and pour the corn starch mixture into the pan and stir everything thoroughly. Let simmer until the rice is done, serve and enjoy!

2 responses to “Dairy, Soy, and Wheat…not in my diet!

  1. blubecca7 says:

    You are amazing! Such an inspiration to me to eat healthier!! Love you!! And I want to try that yummy recipe!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

