Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

A New Day

on December 19, 2014

Let’s face it, we all do and say things we regret. As a parent, this happens more often than I’d like to admit. I yell at my kids. I treat them with disrespect. I am short-tempered with them. I’m unempathetic. I’m selfish. I’m impatient. But today is a new day. Let me repeat that…today is a new day! That is a beautiful phrase to me, as a parent who is trying to reform from my former authoritarian ways to a more peaceful, gentle ideal. I may have reverted back to my old self yesterday, after much stress and exhaustion, but that doesn’t have to dictate what I do and say today. Every time I choose to do things differently today, I’m writing a new past for my children. One that isn’t filled with hurt, anger, and frustration. I’m giving them memories of love, caring, and understanding. And maybe, just maybe, I can give them more happy memories than sad ones. What’s more, I can show them that it is possible to be the person you want to be if you don’t give up trying. It’s possible to rewrite your destiny. We are not slaves to our circumstances. We have the choice every day, every hour, every minute, to be the person we want to be. No change is too big or too small. So carpe diem; seize the day!

2 responses to “A New Day

  1. Melissa says:

    Another spot on post. Seriously. This is something that I have been struggling with since the birth of my second child, our oldest son, in 2001. I am no where near the mess of a parent I was then, which was pretty awful especially after the birth of our second son in 2004….2005 through 2009 were incredibly hard for a wide array of reasons. I never want to go back there, and I have loads and loads of mommy guilt that I don’t think will ever truly go away. Then sadly we suffered the loss of a baby in 2009, followed by the amazing gift of our 4th baby (another boy!) in 2010. It was then that I vowed to be different. No matter what. My kids deserved more. They deserve everything. Although I still have bad days, or even weeks, I refuse to let myself believe that it means I’m failing, or that it’s ok to give up and just let it be that way. Every day is a new day. Every moment you’re blessed with you are also blessed with the choice and chance to be better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

