Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

I am weird…

on January 27, 2015

I’ve been doing a 30-day challenge. Take a selfie every day for a month and write on it a positive affirmation of myself. I’m on day 16, and I’ve realized something…

I am weird…

For many years, I strove to be “normal”. It was like my holy grail. I longed for it, I tried with every fiber in my being too attain this elusive “normalcy”.

Somewhere along the way, I realized…I am weird, and that’s OK. I’ll never be like “everyone else”. My ideas and opinions, thoughts and dreams, are vastly different than all those other “normal” people.

I think about wormholes and alternate realities. I form theories about the origins of our universe. I research everything from plant-based medicine to how to build a yurt to neanderthals…in a single day. I cloth diaper, bed share, peacefully parent, eat organically, and unschool my kids. I don’t care about politics or religion, I don’t know anything about fashion, and I couldn’t care less about pop culture. I read books by Isaac Asimov and poetry by Sylvia Plath.

Normal? Nope, not by a long shot! But I’ve come to realize that being weird is more than ok, it’s awesome! Because I am weird, and I’m learning to love being me =)

image

5 responses to “I am weird…

  1. Looove the weird. And you’re not alone. Normality is slowly becoming obsolete. It’s about being yourself without comparisons.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. blubecca7 says:

    I love that I’m weird. That I don’t fit in societies little box of so called normal people. I will always be different and that’s just who I am. It took me a long time to be okay with that too. But I am just me. And if someone doesn’t like it…oh well. Lol I’m proud of you!

    Like

  3. marlab412 says:

    I’m weird right along with ya 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

