Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Bed Sharing: Two little blessings

on February 17, 2015

When I told Natalie, my 18 month old, that it was time for bed, she ran to my bed and went and laid her head on my pillow. We talked and tickled and giggled for awhile. Then she laid her head on my husband’ s pillow with a sad look on her face. I asked her if she missed daddy and she whimpered a little. (He started a career as a truck driver not long ago.) Then I told her again it was time for her to go to sleep and she laid down again. I told her “no, in your bed” and she shook her head and pointed to her daddy’s pillow. So I asked if she wanted to sleep with me and Bobby (my 6 month old) tonight and she grinned widely, found her bottle, and laid down. How could I say no to that? So I laid down next to her, with Bobby on my other side. He nursed and quickly went to sleep. Natalie drank her whole bottle, fidgeted a bit, then finally fell asleep, too. So they’re both in there, asleep in my bed, a few inches apart. I’ll have to squeeze in between them to get back in bed. But how many years will they actually want to both sleep with mama? How many opportunities will I get to snuggle up with my 2 precious babies? To hear their breathing while they slumber peacefully, knowing they are safe, protected by their mama until morning. I doubt I could ever regret saying yes to such a request. And I daren’t imagine Natalie’s heartbroken cries if I had said no. I have to say no to far too many things on a daily basis. I like to be able to say yes. It warms my heart to give her what she desires, to see her face light up. Besides, I know that it’s hard for her to be a big sister at such a young age. It’s hard to be a baby, but yet not be THE baby. It’s hard to see a littler one need mama so much when she herself needs mama, too. Especially days like today, when his tummy was upset and he just needed to be held. So yes, tonight, my love, you can sleep with mama. And tomorrow, I will have the pleasure of waking next to the two most beautiful babies, instead of just one. Tonight, my heart is full. =)

One response to “Bed Sharing: Two little blessings

  1. blubecca7 says:

    That’s so beautiful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

