Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

“You sure have your hands full!”

on April 17, 2015

Why must everyone who sees me with all my kids say “you sure have your hands full!”? What exactly is that supposed to mean? I usually just smile and say “I sure do” or “yep”. Sometimes, it seems like a compliment, but other times, it seems like a derogatory or aghast comment. Is 4 kids really THAT many? Perhaps it’s just because I have 2 little ones so close in age? Maybe to some people, carrying one on my back while pushing another in a stroller is a big deal? I really don’t get it! We walked to the park to watch jet boats do practice runs down the river today. They’re going to be racing this weekend. Then we walked to the market and post office. I had 2 different people say this exact phrase to me. One was a man and the other was a woman. The man also commented, while chuckling “where’s dad when you need him?” To which I replied “on the road, on a truck, making money to feed all these kids”. The woman also commented “you go, girl!” I’m not really sure what to make of it! If you have an idea of what this comment means, or a clever response I could give, please comment!

image

image

13 responses to ““You sure have your hands full!”

  1. So glad I’m not the only one! I get this all the time with my 6, 5 and 3 year old! I am always wondering what the best response that would make me feel good is. I generally end up just saying thank you and/or smiling. I don’t believe it’s always meant as a compliment but that’s their issue!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amie Elna says:

    Yes!!!! I come from a family of ten children, so to me- my family of four kids is small! LOL 🙂 I used to cry when people would comment about my hands being full. My youngest son has a red-headed temper and the comment would usually come while he was upset. I learned to say – yes, they are full – but I’m keeping them all anyway – even the one screaming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol that’s a good one! And wow, 10 kids! How did you like growing up with so many siblings? I always joke to my husband that we will have an even dozen. I’m only partially joking 😉 I would love to have many more, as God sees fit!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amie Elna says:

        It was good 🙂 I’m totally reaping the rewards of a big family in adulthood – built in friends :). We are all very close!! My dad is always teasing all of us to have more kids (33 grand kids so far! – and my parents have been foster parents for the last year to a baby.) Good luck with your growing family!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome =) thanks, I don’t know many families with more than 4 kids, so I’m always curious! Most people I know seem to think we are nuts. Oh, well!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes! I have three year old twins and an almost 2 year old baby. All boys. All almost the same size. We hear this a lot. I take it as a compliment even if their tone indicates otherwise. I also take it as they are saying they believe it to be hard work, which it often can be so they’re giving a verbal pat on the back ❤️ the only comment I receive that makes me mad is when people say, “better you than me”. Yup. With that attitude I’m definitely better qualified to raise “this many” kids than you 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

