Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

DIY Stain Remover for Laundry

on April 18, 2015

As a mom of 4, I’m always looking for a good deal. And I’m always doing laundry! So when I saw this DIY stain remover on pinterest, I knew I had to try it! I had just used up the rest of my store-brand spray, and I really hate forking over like $3 if I can make it myself much cheaper. I bought the ingredients:

image

The bottle of ammonia was about $2.75 and the dish soap was on sale for $1.75, so I spent about $4.50 total. I rinsed out the old spray bottle I had with hot water and used that. All you do is mix 1/3 water, 1/3 ammonia, and 1/3 dish soap. I recommend leaving a little space at the top, because I filled mine too full and was unable to shake it up! Once I was able to shake it, it sprayed easily onto the clothes. I read that you shouldn’t let this mixture sit on the clothes for more than 5 minutes, because the ammonia will start to lighten colors. However, I noticed that the clothes I sprayed last, that didn’t sit at all, still had some light stains after being washed. The rest had no traces of stains, though! And I had stains of every type to test it on! Dirt, grass, strawberries, marinara sauce, you name it. Pretty much everything except blood! Haha I figure one bottle of spray cost me about $1.15, which is a huge savings compared to even the store brand spray. Especially when you consider I go through about one bottle per month!

One response to “DIY Stain Remover for Laundry

  1. […] laundry, try this DIY stain remover. And try making your own laundry detergent, or use soap […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

