Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

My Baby is 11

on April 22, 2015

image

Where has time gone? 11 short years ago, I gave birth to this beautiful girl, my first baby. I still remember the moment I found out I was pregnant with her. I had taken several tests, all negative. Finally, I had blood taken, which was really my first selfless act as a mother. I hate needles. My husband was in the army. If you don’t know army clinics, know one thing: they are impersonal. They kind-of make you feel like cattle. Anyway, everyone taking a pregnancy test is given a number. Then they had you call this phone number and listen for your number to be read. If your number was read, you had a positive test. (Yes, I’m serious. I couldn’t make this up if I tried!) So there I was, standing in my living room, calling the number at the designated time. I heard my number read and I grinned from ear to ear. This baby was my dream come true, I was a mom! Then I called my husband at work. He said “really?!?” Then “my boys can swim!” LOL He was so incredibly proud to be a daddy, and that has never changed.

There are some things you never forget. Touching my daughter’s head as she crowned; the first time I touched a child of mine. The agonizing minutes I waited to hold her as I was stitched up from tearing and was bleeding badly; I had never known a deeper longing. The joy I took in her every “first”. And now, the pride I feel in the person she has become. She’s intelligent, compassionate, patient, kind. She’s inventive, artistic, and wise beyond her years. Above all else, she’s happy. And in that one fact, I know that I’m succeeding as a mother. I know I have my faults. I know there are things I can do better. I struggle, I fail, I get up and try again the next day. I am human.  But my children are happy, and they know they are loved. And I try to be the best mother I can be. That’s what matters. That’s what they’ll remember when they grow up and leave home. And I hope they also know that the greatest thing I have ever done, and will ever do, is be their mother.

I love you, Elizabeth Marie! Happy birthday!

2 responses to “My Baby is 11

  1. Amie Elna says:

    Happy birthday to your daughter!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

