Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Another Trip Around the Sun

on April 28, 2015

There is a video going around Facebook of a mother assaulting her son who was rioting in Baltimore. (http://abc7.com/news/video-angry-baltimore-mom-beats-son-suspected-of-rioting/684791/) My first thought was “violence begets violence”. When I saw the video posted by a friend who authors a Facebook page and blog here on WordPress (http://unschoolingmommaandpoppy.com/), I felt the urge to comment. I stated:

I would not beat my child to get them away. I understand fully the gravity of the situation. I would be crying, begging, pleading with them to come away with me. I would  know that I understand why they feel the need to be there. I would offer to help them voice their protest in a safer, more effective way. If they still would not come away with me, I would stand in front of them and say “I understand that I can’t make you leave, but I cannot leave you, my child, in a place where you may be harmed. So I will stand here and protect you, with my own body if I must. Because I love you more than life itself. And while I disagree with your actions, I cannot leave you here to potentially die. I will stay here and spend what may be your last moments on Earth with you.”

Which actions do you think would have more of an impact on that human life, and on the lives of any who witnessed the interaction?

Apparently, my comment has garnered much attention. A lot of it has been positive, some negative. I’ve even been called names and told I don’t know what I’m talking about because I’m not “black”. To which I reply:

image

image

As a result of my comment, however, I’ve been invited to a Q&A on someone else’s blog. (Stay tuned!) I’m honored and humbled that my honesty and openness have touched so many. I used to aspire to do many things in my life; lately, I have adopted a “what will be, will be” attitude. When I started my blog 6 months ago, I never would have imagined that nearly 50 people would be “following” my posts. And now, it seems I may actually have a chance at being a “real” author. And on today,  of all days…my birthday! What an incredible gift! I’m excited to see where the next trip around the sun will take me. If I can inspire just one person, ignite a spark of doubt or interest or change in one person, then I will have not begun this journey in vain.

I write this blog as if I am talking to my children; if I happen to inspire someone else along the way, that will be but a happy side effect of my time spent documenting my thoughts and feelings. Thank you to all of you who have taken the time to read my posts!

8 responses to “Another Trip Around the Sun

  1. Amie Elna says:

    Happy Birthday!🎈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. modmomatoz says:

    I read and shared your comment from Free Your Kids…then I just read UnschoolingMomma and Poppy’s post where I was lead here! Your words were beautiful and touching. Deeply touching. It is a mixed up world when we defend a child and are told we are the crazy ones. But we gotta keep speaking out, speaking up, and being the light! Happy Birthday week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I never expected to gain so much attention from my comment. I’m thrilled that my words had such an impact on so many. All I know is that if I can change from the authoritarian parent I used to be to the peaceful mama I now aspire to be, then I know anyone can. They just need to have the spark of possibility ignited. If I can help just one person to find that hope, then I will continue to speak out against what I feel are the problems with this world. Having so much positive feedback from my one comment has helped me know that this blog and my personal struggle have not been in vain. So thank you!

      Like

      • modmomatoz says:

        That’s the cool part about speaking up–you just never know what’s going to stick and what’s going to resonate with people, which is why our individual voices need to be loud so collectively they are booming! And because I’m a huge word nerd, I’m dying that I wrote “lead” instead of “led” LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for your comments on Free Your Kids! I shared them joyfully; it was the most true and compassionate thing I’ve heard about this issue to date. Thanks to Unschooling Momma for sharing the link to your blog!

    Bless you and keep on what you’re doing!

    Much love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I don’t think I will soon get over how many people have told me they were inspired or touched by my words. I’m just a woman trying to be the best mama I can be, with a track record that I’m not exactly proud of. But if my transformation from authoritarian to peaceful is helpful to others, then it is worth sharing, and I’m glad to do so =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

