Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Family First (and a note about sleep regression)

on June 3, 2015

As much as I’d love to make this blog a full time job, I simply don’t have the time for that at this point in my life. Taking care of my kids is a full time job! Taking care of my house and garden is another full time job; although, that doesn’t always get done, because I consider my kids to be my most important work. And since my husband is on the road 5-6 days out of the week, when we get the chance to see him, we drop everything in order to spend every possible minute with him. I love that the unschooling lifestyle allows us to be able to do this, no matter what day of the week it is. We all (babies included) stay up late, ignore the housework (except maybe some laundry or dishes), and focus on fun! We always try to go somewhere and explore the areas around our new hometown, and invariably learn a lot. Here are some pictures from our most recent adventure:

image

image

image

image

Between adventures and my nearly-10 month old’s ongoing sleep regression, I just haven’t had the time to blog much. And now, a word on said sleep regression…

Many babies will periodically go through phases, termed ‘sleep regressions’. Suddenly your baby goes from sleeping peacefully and easily at night, to fighting sleep until exhausted, and waking often through the night.

They may be fussy and clingy through the day, fall out of normal routines, and get up much earlier than usual. The good news is this is a normal part of a child’s development and will pass. The bad news is you’ll be set for a hard few weeks and sleepless nights.

http://naturalfamilytoday.com/parenting/sleep-regressions-what-they-are-and-what-to-do/

This is a difficult time for babies. They are learning new skills, like walking and talking, and they are fully aware of any separation from their caregivers. It must be so scary and mentally exhausting. And as tiring as it might be for me as a parent, I really try to remember that my baby needs me, and isn’t being “bad”. In fact, “regression” itself sounds like such a negative thing. I like this perspective better:

Once you have ruled out illness as a reason for sudden changes in your baby’s sleep patterns, consider your baby’s development: what new skills is your baby learning? Is she a bit more clingy during her awake times? Does she seem more sensitive right now? And try to see her wakefulness as a positive – she is not regressing, she is progressing. She is learning and developing in leaps and bounds. She isn’t waking because you have done anything wrong. You aren’t encouraging ‘bad habits’ you are helping your baby feel secure as she grows through these intense developmental stages. You don’t have to justify your baby’s behavior with fancy labels or reasons for her waking (except perhaps, to yourself if it makes you feel better).

http://www.pinkymckay.com/the-myth-of-baby-sleep-regressions-whats-really-happening-to-your-babys-sleep/

So if you don’t see me posting anything new for awhile, it’s likely I’m helping my baby sleep or otherwise spending time with those I love =)

Leave a Reply

