Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Organic Vegetable Gardening (part 5)

on June 6, 2015

I thought I’d post a little update on my gardening experiment, along with some pictures! I’m so pleased, and proud of myself for how well my garden is coming along! I’m keeping (most) everything alive, the weeds and pests at bay (for the most part), and having a wonderful time doing it!

image

One of the bell pepper plants I bought has it’s first blossom.

image

One of the tomato plants I bought has some buds, as well!

image

This one marigold plant that I purchased is doing very well.

image

My basil that I bought and planted while it was still freezing has bounced back nicely, and we’ve used a few leaves.

image

The thyme I bought has these adorable little white flowers. I hope it seeds and spreads! I’ve used a bunch of this herb already.

image

This is one of the broccoli plants I bought, it’s by far the biggest. I will begin to use the leaves of these plants soon! (Yes, the leaves are edible! Very good in stir fry or soup.)

image

The eggplant I purchased has grown a lot, and I spotted a couple little buds forming.

image

Some of the beans I planted have sprouted and grown rapidly!

image

Here’s a little strawberry flower. My kids have picked and eaten maybe 5 or so strawberries thus far.

image

The corn I planted is several inches tall now. I think there are about 10 stalks!

image

A few of the potatoes I planted have grown wildly. They are about to flower, and will be ready to dig up in a few more weeks!

image

These onions (and others not in the picture) have already provided us with much yummy goodness.

image

A whole lot of the honeydew melon seeds I planted have sprouted. I literally scooped the inside of the melon, threw it on the ground in a few places, and pushed some loose dirt over it with my feet!

image

This is one of 4 chocolate mint plants I bought. It’s doing the best so far.

image

Last, but not least, I believe this is some of the lettuce I planted! I’ll have to do some identifying!

There are a few more things growing that I didn’t get pictures of yet. I can hardly contain my excitement when I think of picking and eating all the lovely organic food! Stay tuned for more updates!

Leave a Reply

