Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Dyslexia and Me

on June 19, 2015

image

https://www.distractify.com/dyslexia-is-no-joke-1197927201.html?ts_pid=2

Dyslexia is something that not many people unaffected by it can fully comprehend. This picture is an example of the alphabet, as seen by Dan Britton. You can read more about it in the link above, here’s an excerpt:

Diagnosed with dyslexia in his third year of college, London designer Dan Britton wanted to show exactly what printed words look like to him and others who live with the disorder.

I have never been diagnosed with dyslexia, but I know I have it. Most people think it’s just mixing up left and right or reading letters backwards, but it’s so much more than that! Here is a complete list of behavioral differences experienced by dyslexics:
http://www.dyslexia.com/library/symptoms.htm

And then there are the multiple levels ofdifficulties reading:
http://staff.napier.ac.uk/services/sas/Student%20Wellbeing/disability/support_info_staff/learning_difficulties/Pages/dyslexic_student_reading_difficulties.aspx

Here’s some of my personal experience, so you have a better idea of what it’s like. When I read, if I read something incorrectly, it’s because my brain literally flipped a letter backwards, which makes certain letters become a different similar letter (b to d is a really confusing one); or my brain actually read the letter as a different letter altogether (“shave” could become “slave”). Often, letters get switched around within the word, to create a new word with the same letters (“salt” could become “slat”). For example, I remember that one of the first times I read the word “gnu” in a sentence, it made absolutely no sense to me. I read it multiple times, getting more and more frustrated. Finally, I realized that the word was “gnu”…I had been reading it as “gun”. The other thing that happens often is that words from one line above or below the one in reading will appear in the midst of the sentence I’m currently reading. That make it really confusing because I have to go back a few lines or sentences to realize what I did wrong. Add to all this the confusion between directions (left and right, up and down, etc.) and the other behavioral differences, and it’s no wonder “regular” people call dyslexia a disability! I don’t see it as such, though. Far from it! There are so many positive things about being dyslexic. Here’s a great list:
http://cancercrushingfacts.org/9-things-dyslexics-are-good-at/

The one that stands out to me most is this:

Dyslexics tend to think in pictures rather than words. Research at the University of California has demonstrated children who are dyslexic have enhanced picture recognition memory.

My husband thinks is odd that I imagine every concept as a picture, but I think it’s one of the reasons I’m so creative artistically! I wouldn’t cure my dyslexia even if I could. This world would be boring if everyone thought the same way about everything.

Leave a Reply

