Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Ricotta and Balsamic Pasta Salad

on August 28, 2015

I’ve been cooking a lot more lately! When you’re on a tight food budget, you have to get creative! Especially when you’ve got 6 mouths to feed. Last night, I made a delicious pasta casserole. I had planned on making enough to send leftovers with my husband to work today. I was a little over-zealous, though, and wound up with a bunch of extra noodles. I immediately thought, “Pasta salad!” This one really doesn’t require a recipe, so here’s a quick description of how I made it…

First, I put the cooled noodles in a big bowl. (I used a mix of elbow macaroni and small shells, but any pasta should do!) Then, I poured balsamic vinegar over the noodles. I can’t tell you how much! I just poured a little, stirred, then poured a little more and stirred again! The goal was to coat the noodles so they didn’t dry out in the fridge. Next, I added some shredded dandelion greens, fresh basil leaves, and broccoli (stem, leaves, and crowns!) from my garden. You could really add any vegetable or leafy thing you want!

image

I had planned on adding the ricotta, also, but my 9 year old doesn’t like it, so I just added it to my bowl when I served it.

image

See? Easy and delicious!

7 responses to “Ricotta and Balsamic Pasta Salad

  1. Amie Elna says:

    Mmmm… Sounds easy and looks delicious! I’ll have to try this one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Edvin says:

    I’ll have to change pasta to bean pasta… But I like the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

