Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Are You Ready?

on September 7, 2015

You have to understand that most of these people are not ready to be unplugged.

– Morpheus, The Matrix

It’s time that I take you down the rabbit hole of my mind. I really don’t care about losing readers, I care about sharing the truth as I see it. Are you ready? Here we go…

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, or ADHD, is becoming a very commonly diagnosed disorder. What is it about these people that is so “wrong”? Here is a lengthy description of people with ADHD (I’ve edited out some of it, but you can read the whole thing here):

People with ADHD suffer from overload…. That is, they have heightened awareness of incoming stimuli, particularly sight, sound, and touch. They are so bombarded by the normal stimuli in their environment that they cannot filter out the background noise, and they have trouble focusing or concentrating on a problem or a task. Because of their inability to focus, those with ADHD have trouble completing what they start. They have difficulties with making plans and even more difficulty in carrying out plans in an orderly fashion.

People with ADHD tend to be disorganized. Children have messy rooms; adults have cluttered desks; daily activities tend to be chaotic…. Many people with the disorder are highly intelligent, but they tend to be underachievers because they cannot concentrate or sustain interest. As a result, family, friends, teachers, and coworkers become impatient and expect them to fail. People with ADHD also have trouble adapting to change. Their life is so full of tumult that even a minor additional change in their routine can be upsetting or can even create a crisis, eg, a parent goes away on a trip, a new teacher takes over a class, the family moves to a new city, or a pet dies.

ADHD afflicted people live under stress so severe they cannot tolerate frustration, and when they are frustrated, they are likely to become angry. The anger tends to come suddenly and explosively, accompanied by slamming doors, harsh words, tantrums, and leaving important meetings in a frenzy. Children get into fights; adults lose jobs and alienate friends. Afterwards, they may be sorry, but the damage is done. With their high level of frustration, people with ADHD are impatient. They hate to wait in line, and delays of any kind can make them frantic. Whatever is going on – a trip, a movie, a class, a discussion – they want it to go quickly and be finished. Their impatience makes people with ADHD impulsive…. People with ADHD have trouble with their orientation to time and space. They may have trouble differentiating their right hand from their left; they may have difficulty following a set of instructions, reading a map, or telling time. As babies or children they constantly are on the move, squirming, twisting, and getting into everything. As adults, they are restless, easily bored, rebellious when asked to follow a routine, and always on the move.

This describes me exactly, as well as my 9 year old daughter. What I don’t understand is why this is considered “bad”? I have never been medicated, but also never told I had a “disorder”, and I manage to deal with life. Yes, it has been very difficult at times. But I personally see modern society as being the problem, not me. Once I started creating my environment to be more conducive to my personality (“ADHD”, or what I consider to be just a variation of the realm of “normal”), I became happier, less anxious, and even more adept at dealing with life. Once my husband and I are able to get away from society even more, I believe I’ll be even happier and more capable. Does that make my brain “disordered”, or just differently abled? I could list a bunch of ways that my brain’s abilities enable me to do certain things better than “normal” people. Which is why I personally would never choose to medicate myself or my children.

I don’t doubt for one minute that the brains of those with ADHD look different than the majority of other humans. What I doubt is whether this difference is a dysfunction, rather than a variation of “normal”. I believe that it’s more likely a relatively common anomaly that went unnoticed up until recently because of the fact that our society is becoming less and less conducive to anything outside the realm of “normal”. Which I personally think is a great travesty. Where would we be without the people throughout history who thought “outside the box”? (Albert Einstein is the best example of a person who would have been heavily medicated into “normalcy”, had he been born today.)

I will concede that perhaps medication “works”, in the sense that it enables people with different functioning brains to “fit in” with modern society. If that’s the goal, I suppose medication is the best choice. Much like animals in zoos being medicated into exhibiting “normal” behaviors in unnatural living conditions. Personally, I don’t want to live in a zoo, metaphorically speaking.

I’m going to be honest with you: I hate this place. This zoo. This prison. This reality, whatever you want to call it. I can’t stand it any longer. It’s the smell- if there is such a thing. I feel… saturated by it. I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I’ve somehow been infected by it. It’s repulsive, isn’t it? I must get out of here. I must get free and in this mind is the key, my key.

– Agent Smith, The Matrix

I’m beginning to not believe that any mental “disorder” is an actual dysfunction. Only that a lot of children are abused, mentally and physically, and carry that trauma into adulthood. The rest are simply being shoved into a box that is not allowing them to thrive as a human, because modern society is not natural. It’s a zoo.

The truth is, if you read through the DSM (the diagnostic book that psychiatrists use), you’ll realize that everyone has at least a few traits from all of the disorders listed; and that given the right circumstances, anyone could be diagnosed and medicated for at least one of them. Because they’re all on a long sliding scale of “normalcy”. Think of the human brain as a point on a line. Most of the points will be in the middle, functioning about the same as those around them. Then there will be “flingers”; points that are far to the left or right on the line. Not as many points are on the ends, but there are still quite a few out there. We call these brains “autistic”, “schizophrenic”, “bipolar”, “ADHD”, etc. They are still “normal”. They are just different. Now, anencephaly is an example of a truly malformed brain. In a natural human setting, this brain could not survive. That is a dysfunction. Thinking outside the box is not a dysfunction.

So why has a difference in the way people think been labeled a “disorder”? I’ll tell you why. The pharmaceutical industry is one of the biggest financial influencer to the government. They throw more money collectively into lobbying the government for laws and policies than most people comprehend. The pharmaceutical and food industries are the two that are basically running our government. Their profits are directly tied to what we in this society consider to be “normal”. It’s normal to consume so much sugar that we are all becoming diabetics. It’s normal to ingest so many chemicals in our food, medications, water, and air that we are seeing a disastrous rise in every medical condition known to man. It’s normal to stick our kids in desks most of the day and then expect them to sit still at home, and when they don’t we pump them full of more chemicals. It’s normal for companies to be not held accountable for horrible side effects (including death) caused by vaccines. It’s normal for companies to be able to directly advertise chemicals to people through ads on TV and not have to tell them all the possible side effects, even when these chemicals are highly addictive.

This isn’t a conspiracy, it’s being done right in front of our faces! We’re just too heavily medicated to realize or care what’s being done! We’re dumbed down by “reality” television, and distracted by empty consumerism. We’re too busy trying to “keep up with the Kardashians” to notice that all our money is lining the pockets of a handful of mega-rich families who literally own the entire western world, our government included. Anyone who so dares think critically about such things and unplug themselves from the matrix society is deemed “dangerous”, labeled as having a mental disorder, and medicated to make them stop seeing the truth for what it is, lest they inform the masses of the reality around them. Those at the top are dependent upon us staying dumbed down and shoved into this box. If we get out, they lose their money, they lose their power, they lose control.

[Verse 1]
Paranoia is in bloom The PR,
Transmissions will resume They’ll try to
Push drugs that keep us all dumbed down And hope,
That we will never see the truth around
Another promise, another scene, another,
Packaged lie to keep us trapped in greed,
And all the green belts wrapped around our minds and endless
Red tape to keep the truth confined

[Chorus]
They will not force us
They will stop degrading us
They will not control us
We will be victorious

[Verse 2]
Interchanging mind control Come let the
Revolution take it’s toll
If you could flick a switch and open your third eye
You’d see that we should never be afraid to die
Rise up and take the power back It’s time the
Fat cats had a heart attack
You know that their time’s coming to an end, We have to
Unify and watch our flag ascend

[Chorus]
They will not force us
They will stop degrading us
They will not control us
We will be victorious

They will not force us
They will stop degrading us
They will not control us
We will be victorious

– Muse, Uprising

As my friend asked, though, what can we do? Here’s what: inform everyone. Take the risk, before they gain the power to silence us for good by locking us up or outright killing us all. Unplug from the system. Fight it in any way you can, big or small. Get as far away from society as possible. Sooner or later, the system will destroy itself. Probably via nuclear war, if I had to guess. The only ones who will survive are those who have retained knowledge of self-sustained living. Growing and finding food, building shelter, treating illness with herbs, making tools, purifying drinking water, etc. All the skills we once had that are being lost at a rapid pace. It’s never too late until the last person dies. But if enough people don’t wake up and fight back, we will go extinct. The earth always maintains equilibrium. Humans have now far offset that equilibrium. All those disasters that wipe out huge amounts of people…call it mother nature, god, whatever you want; it’s the earth that is trying to kill us, the disease, the thing making it sick. We can either go back to living in harmony with it, or we will be eradicated.

I’d like to share a revelation I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species. I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with their surrounding environment, but you humans do not. You move to another area, and you multiply, and you multiply, until every natural resource is consumed. The only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet.

– Agent Smith, The Matrix

So are you ready? Will you walk out of the cave with me, into the sun? Will you open your eyes to the true nature of reality? Or will you sit forever in the prison that has been built up around you?

It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind

The harvest left no food for you to eat
You cannibal, you meat-eater, you see
But I have seen the same
I know the shame in your defeat

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

‘Cause I have other things to fill my time
You take what is yours and I’ll take mine
Now let me at the truth
Which will refresh my broken mind

So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears
I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down
You can understand dependence
When you know the maker’s land

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say

‘Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

– Mumford and Sons, The Cave

34 responses to “Are You Ready?

  1. georgie2424 says:

    Yeah. I’ve long suspected that people with ‘mental health issues’ are actually just people who are more sensitive to others and their environment and get to the point where they can’t cope with or make sense of the hypocritical, insane society that we’ve artificially constructed and labelled ‘normal’.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. blubecca7 says:

    Fantastic job!!! Very well written and informative!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Well written…Societal norms and restrictions are much cause of the disorders which may be inherent. As was said some of the most powerful contributions have been made by stellar intellect that is or could have been mislabeled. Many people with labeled disorders are their worst enemy. Why? I do think they are restricted by the person they are from what we consider normal. What is normalcy, nothing, simply what is imposed for someone to not stand out.
        All people have labels, it’s just most of them hide them or aren’t to extremes enough to the point they are noticed. I comprehend the societal impacts but unless we live remotely, we cannot avoid or impose on ourselves the or a way for us to fit in and stand out in a way that is accepted.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on takingthemaskoff and commented:
    While we write for wake up world, good men project, and others, I want to feature some of the best writers on word press in my opinion. Amazing piece. Follow this blog for great stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. tmezpoetry says:

    I like the post. Yes I agree, there are so many ways to ‘unplug’ from the system, even by the very act of re-framing – concepts, idea’s, media, expectations, etc. As an Adhd’r myself, I do not fault anyone for taking medication or using whatever tools they need to feel better…I feel better only using one cup in the morning instead of unwittingly using 6 (before meds) to save myself the headache and stress of having additional dishes! I think the system is any train of thought that takes away for our choice, levels of personal meaning and freedoms outside the norm or specific expectations. Adhd people and others challenge others for the greater good in my humble opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. […] This is my brain : What a powerful written series of Words : If I could hold this person and just say, Thank You!  , I would. Source: Are You Ready? […]

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent piece, I’m with you. It’s tough for me to share these ideas while working in the field of mental health, but I plan on doing my best to challenge individuals to find their own truth.

    I really dug the lyrics and the quotes from Muse, Mumford, & The Matrix. Your style is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. CeeCee says:

    I agree with you, on ADHD (and ‘disorders’ in the autism spectrum, as well as some other ‘disorders’) are not really a disorder, but a (slightly) different functioning of the brain. I think that our society as it is at this moment in time, is not very ‘ADHD/Autism-friendly’, which causes more coping problems for people with those differently functioning brains, which leads to more labeling. I also think you’re right about the role of the pharmaceutical industry. But I do think that the intolerance for people who are labeled with ADHD and other ‘disorders’ nowadays is of all times. If I take myself (‘sufferer’ of a quite severe case of ADHD) as example, I probably would have been labeled as a witch or the village idiot in ancient times…

    Liked by 2 people

  8. rosemeadow says:

    totally unrelated comment, just a slight bug in my system , the second quote is from Agent Smith , not Morpheus. Needless to say, I needed to say it haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. garyhorvitz says:

    This is an excellent piece, yet all of what you have written, your critique of the pharmaceutical world and the possible responses is all based on the idea of the separate self; i.e we are each, alone, responsible for our state of mind, for conforming to “normal.”

    If we regarded ADHD and other so-called “dysfunctions” as signals to the rest of us, as signals FROM the whole TO the whole, then we would be talking about people with ADHD as “canaries in the coal mine,” messengers sent from US to US, from nature to nature, people who are so sensitive to the continuous overload of stimuli that is our modern world that they are signaling that the world must change, not themselves. They are unable to process all the stimulation. It is only the view of separation that says they are the ones who must adapt rather than seeing them as an expression of collective dysfunction that is effecting us all. Medication is only one form of adaptation to the collective dysfunction, which includes many other addictive behaviors, compulsive self-distractions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment. While I do believe that those with “ADHD” or other mental “illness” are indeed differently minded, I also do agree with you that they are the signalers of the problems in this society we’ve created. I believe they are definitely the canaries, the ones coaxing the others out of the cave. Maybe I didn’t allude to that point strongly enough in this article, but that was my intent. There is a dire need for change, and soon, lest mankind becomes extinct. The powers that be are keeping us all dumbed down, those who are differently minded most of all, because of their ability to see the truth for what it is. We are all part of a whole, yes, but all parts of that whole do not work like the others; as your fingers do not work the same as your spleen, so the minds of some individuals not work as the majority of minds do. All things are one, yet all are a slightly different expression of that one.

      Like

  10. @EyewearGallery, I can’t seem to respond to your comment directly, I apologize.

    I believe that humanity began to decline once we stopped being hunter-gatherers and began the agricultural age. That is the point at which land ownership and inheritance really began. I believe that unless we can get back to a society such as that, we cannot live at peace with each other and in harmony with nature. I realize that is a lofty and seemingly unachievable goal, but I believe that it’s the natural state of man; we will either make our way back to that place, or we will become extinct.

    Like

  11. I got used to people calling me a nerd because of the way i present myself. I have a problem with being ‘institutionalized’. I like going around things my way, my impatience and restlessness has saved me countless times. What is reality if you don’t create it to suit yourself? I have grown up being told that we are all different, then how can we have ‘normalcy’ when each his view?
    Great article, so true to not share it,,, because i hate being normal!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been called all manner of things… nerd, geek, devil worshipper, witch (I actually had a shirt that said “I am not a witch” at one point lol). Among other less becoming names. “Hippie” is the one I embrace, although I would prefer no labels at all!

      Like

  12. Ed says:

    A part of Bush’s “No Child Left Behind” legislation. It grants schools with a student that has ADHD a subsidy. (something like $400?)

    What happened as a result? In the span of 2 years, almost 6 million kids were diagnosed by their school as having ADHD.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. This is a very nice and interesting article. The words disorder, dysfunction, abnormal, maladjusted, maladaptive, etc, all depend on answers to the question what is “ordered,” functional, normal, adjusted, adapted, and assumptions about the sameness and relative value of each of these. The funny words are used to do contortions around the “value judgements” necessary to even talk about human things. Our psychology does not inquire into these, but makes assumptions based on common opinion, common sense, tradition or some combination of these, but not science. The words do mean something, and we can be mistaken about them, so there is a truth: Psychology might depend upon philosophy. That is why we say that the practitioners, the iatria or healers of psychiatry, literally do not know what they are doing when they drug people, and this ignorance clothed in the authority of psychiatry has allowed the drug companies to over-prescribe, for example Ritalin, used especially in modern education. Where long term effects are unknown, why do this- drug a child- unless absolutely necessary? And is there something in our world, pesticides or lawn chemicals- that makes kids today more fidgety? The comment of Ed just above is shocking, and I had heard just yesterday that 500$ was given for each child on Ritalin, because then they could be categorized as disabled. Voters need to insist that this corruption of medicine end now, and ban the drug companies from providing incentives to promote products.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this very thoughtful comment! I believe that the very act of “school” is unnatural enough to elicit the “ADHD” type behavior that is being diagnosed and drugged into submission. This is one of many reasons my husband and I have chosen to unschool our children and eschew the school model entirely. Feel free to peruse the links to articles I have written on unschooling in the similarly named section of my blog page (the drop-down menu should say “about”, “home”, and “unschooling”.) I have included links to websites with further information about unschooling in those articles, if you’re interested in reading more about it.

      Like

      • Thanks, I have begun milling about the very interesting unschooling material. We read JJ Rousseau’s Emile, which you’all might like. I was a sub teacher for a bit in mid and high schools, but got kicked out for third hand cigarette smoke! That’s ok, I was climbin’ the walls anyway! But education at its peak, when it is done right, is a marvel, and we like what you say about finding that one cannot really home school as well as the community enterprise of public school. I have no kids I am responsible for, but if they ever drugged my kid for be’in fidgety, we’d tangle!
        So, Plato’s Republic is the best book on education, and you already have something of the allegory of the cave there. But the allegory is way high, mystical, one must stare into this pool a while, read slowly and carefully, with a pen in hand. Try to read the divided line and the allegory of the cave together! The thing can teach more about the soul of man than any modern lingo about “dysfunction” and “maladaptive”- I could just brain those guys, cause if they cared, they would go to the wise to see what they have to say. In fact, they have never studied the “ordered” soul in their lives, and do not even believe such a study exists.

        Liked by 2 people

      • My husband has gotten me more and more interested in philosophy in recent years. It provides us with a great many mental workouts!

        Liked by 1 person

  14. […] Source: Are You Ready? […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

