Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Authoritarian Parenting Recovery Group

on October 10, 2015

I have been having a conversation over on The Peaceful Papa’s Facebook page and someone suggested that I start a group for parents who used to be authoritarian in nature (spanking, punishments, cry-it-out, etc.) and have since decided to become peaceful parents. A sort-of recovery group, if you will. I am very seriously considering starting a group like this, and would like to gauge the interest level in this endeavor. It would be a group aimed at people who have made the switch after becoming parents (like myself), but I would expand it to include anyone who feels they are recovering from an authoritarian style of parenting (non-parents who were raised in that way and feel it was wrong, parents who knew their upbringing was harmful to them and decided to take a gentler path from day 1 with their children, etc.).

My question for you is, would you be interested in joining a group like this? To receive and offer advice and encouragement for this change in mentality. To connect with other people who share your struggles and desires. To be a part of a shift in the way our society as a whole views the role of the parent.

Please comment below and let me know what you think!

12 responses to “Authoritarian Parenting Recovery Group

  1. Transparent says:

    Discipline doesn’t always have to mean punishment. I’m always open to new ideas of how to keep discipline in my house & prevent chaos from taking over. Ha ha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had liked your above comment in the account I’m working toward switching over from. I was writing here at WP.com as Safire Falcon and have switched over for various reasons. So I’m re (?) following you here. Not a big deal but wanted to say something in case you saw someone liked your comment then took it away. I’m that person and wanted to comment under this user name and account.

    Ok, so now that that’s out of the way, I wanted to tell you that it’s nice to see such a thing as RECOVERING authoritarian parents. The title of your post and your idea for such a group piqued my curiosity because even though I don’t have kids, I’m an adult child of that type of parent. My father was the authoritarian one, crossed a few boundaries, grounded me constantly. Much of the abuse was what I’d call covert and emotionally devastating. We walked on egg shells. My mother wasn’t so much authoritarian but she was passive and neglectful.

    I hope you get some interest in this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] mom in the group I created has posed a very important concern. She is concerned about her 20-month-old toddler […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

