Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

A quick note about food choices…

on January 8, 2016

Over the summer, we started eating more wheat again. Starting at about Halloween up until New Years, we have had a LOT of sugar. Mostly homemade treats… pies and cookies and such… but still sugar. And far more processed food than “usual”. Last winter, I had only a couple days of fibromyalgia and arthritis pain. I also had no dairy, soy, or wheat and very little sugar. (My youngest was very sensitive to dairy, soy, and wheat.) This winter, I am in excruciating pain a lot of days. It’s so bad today that I have waves of pain just sitting here on the couch in the sun. I am totally convinced that it’s my diet. I started upping my fruit and veggie intake, and will be trying to cut back on wheat and sugar. I don’t want to live with this pain any longer. No amount of cookies is worth this!

There is hidden dairy, wheat, and soy in nearly every processed food, which is why I eliminated those almost entirely last year. I’m sure all the chemicals don’t help my body function properly, either. So what did I eat? A lot of fruit and veggies, meat, eggs, lots of root veggies like potatoes, corn tortillas and chips, beans, rice, quinoa, nuts. It took some getting used to, but I think that getting back into those habits will be far easier this time!

2 responses to “A quick note about food choices…

  1. koolaidmoms says:

    I too have notice certain food trigger my fibro more than others. Processed foods of all kinds are pretty much out now though I still do eat a bit of dairy and wheat. I hope it works for you and that your pain is down again soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

