Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

The Matrix is Real

on January 10, 2016

When you finally realize that mainstream food companies are basically selling us food full of chemicals and devout of nutrients, you may, like many others, start to become a little fanatic about reading ingredients lists, seeking out GMO-free products, supplementing with superfoods, and actually paying attention to what goes into your body.

Well, guess what? Now, you suddenly may have a mental disorder, at least according to scientists at the University of Northern Colorado who conducted a case study about the obsession of eating healthy. This new eating disorder is called orthorexia nervosa (ON) and is said to be driven by a fear of being unhealthy and disgust for low-quality food.

“Orthorexia nervosa (ON) is a term introduced to describe a condition characterized by a pathologic obsession for bio-logically pure and healthy nutrition.” ~Ryan M. Moroze, MD. et al [1]

How can you judge if you or someone you love is suffering from orthorexia? Similarly to most other mental illness assessment, a quick review of a checklist of potential traits will do. According to Dunn, if you identify with two or more of the following traits, you might need to see a counselor:

1. You consume a nutritionally unbalanced diet because of concerns about “food purity.”

2. You’re preoccupied about how eating impure or unhealthy foods will affect your physical or emotional health.

3. You rigidly avoid any food you deem to be “unhealthy,” such as those containing fat, preservatives, additives or animal products.

4. You spend three or more hours per day reading about, acquiring or preparing certain kinds of food you believe to be “pure.”

5. You feel guilty if you eat foods you believe to be “impure.”

6. You’re intolerant of other’s food beliefs.

7. You spend an excessive proportion of your income on “pure” foods. [4]

(source)

This is scary in more ways than one…

First, it seems that anyone exhibiting thoughts or behaviors that go against “the mainstream” are now being labeled mentally ill. This label is then used to not only attempt to control such thoughts and behaviors through the use of pharmaceuticals, but also to discredit the message they might be trying to portray (“Oh, don’t mind Johnny, he’s just got a mental disorder.”)

Second, on a scarier note, a mental health diagnosis can be used as the basis for all sorts of government control: taking children from their “mentally ill” parents, forcing pharmaceuticals on children with the threat of making them wards of the state if their parents don’t comply, having individuals committed to institutions, removing the right to own a firearm or manage your own finances or a multitude of other things.

With the amount of mental “disorders” that have been named thus far, basically the only way to be considered “normal” is to go to college while amassing student loans that you’ll be paying off for 30 years, get a job in which you’re unhappy but need to pay all your student loans, buy a house with a mortgage you can’t really afford, drive a brand-new car you don’t need, get married to someone you can’t stand, eat “food” from a box or fast food restaurant, have exactly two children whom you will place in government-run “learning” institutions for nearly all their childhood, go on vacations using credit cards, watch 5 hours of propaganda-laden television every day, and purchase mountains of stuff, all cheaply-made in sweatshops and which will be quickly disposed of once it breaks or gets ruined or goes out of style, so that you can replace it with even more stuff.

image

Do you want the red pill or the blue pill? 

Morpheus: The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now, in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work… when you go to church… when you pay your taxes. It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.
Neo: What truth?
Morpheus: That you are a slave, Neo. Like everyone else you were born into bondage. Into a prison that you cannot taste or see or touch. A prison for your mind.

Morpheus: The Matrix is a system, Neo. That system is our enemy. But when you’re inside, you look around, what do you see? Businessmen, teachers, lawyers, carpenters. The very minds of the people we are trying to save. But until we do, these people are still a part of that system and that makes them our enemy. You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the system, that they will fight to protect it.

The Matrix

11 responses to “The Matrix is Real

  1. koolaidmoms says:

    That they actually wrote this is scary. We all have some type of mental illness surrounding food I guess – over eating, under eating, eating too healthy, and not eating healthy enough. I think we could all fall somewhere on their scale.

    Like

    • ajk201 says:

      What you say here is actually why to an extent I am on the fence about this topic. I’ve been researching it a lot lately in large part cause of my own eating habits/obsessions as I try to eat just right and really struggle in a lot of ways with food as a result of that, and I do believe to some extent this can be a thing. Just in my own experiences, I know I drive myself a bit crazy trying to eat proper, trying to eat the healthiest foods, having the best diet I can and what not, and it can really overwhelm me since I never had a background in my family where that was a priority in the way I’d prefer it to be knowing what I know now.

      Not to say course that there isn’t a lot of propaganda pushed to push anyone who cares about food quality to the side as it were, I fully understand and believe that there is a lot of that as well but I also don’t think the issue is entirely cut and dry either. It really depends on the person.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks for your input!

        My question to you would be this: if you lived in a natural world, where there were no genetically modified, hormone induced, chemically laden “foods” being presented everywhere you turn, would you still drive yourself crazy trying to eat healthfully? If not, then you don’t have a disorder of any kind, you have a conscious that tells you that this matrix we live in is WRONG. And if you think you’d still have a problem, given that natural state, what you have is anxiety, probably as a result of this matrix we live in 😉

        Just my opinion. Mull it over.

        Like

      • ajk201 says:

        you’re welcome 🙂 and I am sure it’d absolutely be different if we lived in that society that our ancestors once did before everything got so messed up in all the ways you mentioned and more. I won’t dispute that at all, nor that my conscious does tell me a lot of how we eat is wrong.I know that is a part of it, and a wanting as a result to do better for myself where I can.

        But with all that said….we live in the society we live in, and a lot of that is beyond our control in the end even as much as we wish we could control it. And we kinda have to do our best to make due with it as it is, which is where the challenges come in that I’ve talked about already as to striking that balance between eating healthy/well and still living our lives around that in the same breath. It’s not always easy, I know for me it’s not. Does that make sense? Ideally yes we wouldn’t be facing any of this, but we don’t live in that world sadly. Would make things undoubtedly easier if we did but we don’t.

        As far as anxiety goes…..yeah I do have it…..and always have really with it getting progressively worse as I’ve gotten older for various reasons (some of which are really best served for other topics). I’m sure there is some overlap in living in the society we live in when it comes to my relationship to food but…as I said before at the same time there’s only so much I can do about that….it’s a tricky thing to deal with all around really.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with you up to the point that you feel we just have to accept how it is. I disagree. It can change. We can live more naturally and at peace with one another and the earth. But not if we don’t try. I refuse to accept this society that I was born into because I see it crumbling around me. It’s unsustainable. It’s damaging. It’s harmful to every living thing here. I won’t stand idly by while the majority accept and cause that destruction. That’s why I’m here, having this conversation now, doing what I do =)

        Like

      • ajk201 says:

        Yeah I understand that but realistically we can only change what’s closest to us (and ourselves by proxy) changing the world itself takes something a lot bigger than us individually, and in the end may never fully change how we want it to much as I hate to admit that. I’ve battled with it all as well, but at a certain point you kinda have to let go at least a little you know what I mean? I completely understand though, it’s tough watching everything crumble around you and knowing why it is but unable to fully do a lot about that, been dealing with emotions like that for the better part of a decade, so I get it.

        Do you have any advice as to how to eat well without all the anxiety and such in the meantime if I may ask? Curious what advice you might have from your own perspective on the subject.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would say that you should just do the best you can…

        Be realistic with yourself. For instance, I am making a Mexican dinner for my husband’s birthday tomorrow. I would have loved to make homemade tortillas to go with it. They are cheaper, taste better, and lack chemical preservatives. But realistically, I know that I’ll not have time, energy, or desire to make those along with his special breakfast and cake. So I bought some packaged tortillas. I don’t feel bad about it because I’m being honest with myself about my willingness to commit time and energy to the food we eat.

        Everything must be balanced in life. Do your best to attain your goal (healthy eating) but show yourself compassion when you fall short of your ideal.

        Learning to practice mindfulness has had great advantages for me. I highly recommend doing some reading on it =)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ON is such BS. I love your angry sarcasm.
    It’s an ugly cycle. The industry created processed foods, are able to get away with labeling it vaguely and expect us to eat it and if we refuse, they slap an illness label on us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. webbermd says:

    This article reminds me of the documentary The Marketing of Madness: the Truth about Psychotropic Drug. I saw it almost 5 years ago now, and it looks like Big Pharma has been very busy creating pills and labels for normal human behaviors since then. Great article. Here’s the link to the documentary if you haven’t seen it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

