Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Facebook, the Anti-Connection

on February 25, 2016

What if I want real-life tangible relationships, because human beings are social creatures who crave human connection… but everyone is too involved with their technology-driven lives to get off Facebook and even send me a text message…

What if I loathe the idea of this false sense of “connection” that lies in social networking…

What if people in my own little tiny town are so caught up in this artificial rat race that they’re too busy to sit in their front yards and chat, or heaven forbid, invite someone into their home…

What if me on Facebook is simply a band aid on the broken back of society…

Because I know what’s missing. Community. Friendship. Connection. Not the fake “connect with me on Facebook” connection. Real-life, tangible, energy-swapping connection.

Should I continue to pretend to myself that Facebook is the best I’ll get? Because I think I’m past that. I think scrolling through my news feed is too bittersweet, because deep down, I feel like if these people cared about me at all, they’d have taken the 10 seconds to send me that picture that I “liked” on Facebook. They’d have sent me a message or a text saying “how’s it going with you?” Are we really going to fool ourselves into believing we’re “too busy” for that?

But if I give up Facebook, what’s left? Who will still send me pictures of their life? Who will ask me how I’m doing? Who will make the effort? That’s a scary, lonely thought.

8 responses to “Facebook, the Anti-Connection

  1. It is scary how dependent on technology we’ve become. There’s a video going around FB (of all places) showing the robot from google. Have you seen it? It walks through snow and you can see how it almost loses its balance and then saves itself from slipping. It walks beside the guy who’s controlling it…like a buddy walking alongside someone. It picks up boxes and then at the end, the human pushes it and it falls over on its face. Then it bends its knees to steady its feet and pushes itself back up to standing position. It’s creepy to me.

    Not sure how to explain how your post reminded me of this but it did. I guess because it’s a kind of computerized friend, this robot.

    I’m 50 and in my 30s (which I’m remembering you being now from a post I read of yours mentioning your age) computers were around, but most people’s lives didn’t revolve around them. I used one at work some but I wasn’t on it all day. My friend’s and I visited each other and we did things like hike and go camping. I was still going to bars then too but not a lot.

    I’m not bragging or trying to rub it in. I’m just reminiscing I guess because you have really good points here and it’s sad how things have gotten. A few years back when I was spending a good bit of time with a girlfriend, we’d go out to have dinner and she’d have two cell phones with her. One for work and her personal one. If she got a text on either one of them, she was right there to pick it up, interrupt our convo, etc. And one text is something I would check too. But she was getting texts almost constantly some nights. It was crazy.

    I didn’t make a big deal out of it and I understood to a point, particularly the work stuff. But I would think sometimes, “What’s the point of us being out to socialize with each other if you’re just going to have your face in your cell phone screen all night?”

    It’s just going to get worse because we are in the last generations of people who were born not dependent on computers. And a good many of us are now quite computer and internet savvy too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh by the way, you can come by and visit me… at my house. Lol. Bring the kids too there’s a pretty nice park up the street. Wait til it gets warm though. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your ramblings and reminiscing =)

      I haven’t seen that robot, but I’ve read “I, Robot” by Asimov. Definitely food for thought.

      I’ve been reading lately about the loss of “the community” and how it has negatively affected the development of children. It made me think about the fact that it has negatively affected all of humanity, not just children.

      Nearly all our “connections” these days are shallow and/or self-serving. It’s a multi-faceted issue, for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I agree that it has effected everyone. It’s isolating and I thought of the elderly too when I read this comment. The younger generations aren’t getting off their devices long enough to go visit grandma as much anymore either.

        I notice around here, it can really depend on whether there’s a community type vibe or not. In my neighborhood there is not. My neighbor will be within two feet of me and not say a word. Or the neighbor across the street who looks right at you and looks away real quick to avoid contact. I was mid-wave once when she did that. I’ve never attempted any sort of contact after that.

        I talk to one of my neighbors and that’s rare. Their cat comes over to hang out with ours and vice versa on each others porches. Lol.

        My sister’s neighborhood however is very different. I remember driving up the road on my way out of her ‘hood once and a couple people on foot, waved to me. They didn’t know me, they just assumed the car contained someone who lived in the neighborhood and simply waved.

        I don’t know if they still do this, but a whole bunch of families used to go trick or treating together over there. This is fairly recent as her kids are pre-teens. One year I joined them and one of the guys from the neighborhood drove a tractor around with a trailer attached. They filled the trailer with hay and all the kids rode in the back as the tractor driver neighbor drove from house to house.

        Afterward, one of the people we’d been trick or treating with had everyone come back to their house and have drinks and let the kids play together.

        So it still exists. You just gotta find the right ‘hood.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I honestly thought it would be easier once we moved to this tiny town last year. It’s far better than a big city, but I think the people here already have their “groups” and are wary of “outsiders”. I see the same people working in/owning the shops and such, and we exchange pleasantries, but it still feels very superficial. It’s better than nothing, I suppose, and I have hope that the relationships will develop. But it’s very hard in the meantime.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good luck. Here’s to developing some in person relationships.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, we are meeting up with some friends tomorrow at the playground, so there’s that =)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

