Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Faerie Locks: 6 week update

on March 13, 2016

Two days from now will be the 6 week mark since the last time I brushed my hair.

I have been twisting the locs every now and then to help them form more neatly and not bunch up with any matting. These pictures are from after showering then twisting.

image

image

image

There are a whole lot of locs now, mostly little baby ones but there is at least one bigger one.
A couple interesting things…I lose almost no hair now, whereas I would typically lose 20+ hairs a day before (between brushing, washing, etc)… also, handling my hair less seems to be lessening the oil buildup that was common for my hair before. I have only washed my hair twice in two weeks and I only used a vinegar rinse both times. My scalp still seems even more dry than usual, though, so I think I’ll do a conditioning treatment of honey and coconut oil sometime this week. I never thought it possible to have dry hair! I’ve always had such oily hair!

Oh, and when I go out to run errands or whatever, I generally tie a scarf around my head or pull back all my hair into a loose, messy bun. I’m not quite ready to handle the inevitable stares. I think I’ll be more confident once my locs are more tightly formed.

2 responses to “Faerie Locks: 6 week update

  1. I was just thinking about you and your faerie locks- I’m glad you did an update! They look beautiful! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

