Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

Loving My Dirty Dishes

on March 25, 2016

image

This sink full (always full) of dirty dishes would normally make me sigh a sigh of discontent. I would look at it and see imperfection, failure, and work.

Today, this sink makes me happy. Today, I look at these dishes and know what they represent…

They are the food I cook for my family daily.

They are my four children, unschooled and here all day most days.

They are the time I spend with my husband and children after dinner; not standing at a sink, but talking and playing games and watching our favorite shows.

They are the cookies I bake with my toddlers.

They are the time I spent crocheting rather than doing housework.

They are the peaceful, non-coercive relationship I strive to have with my children.

One day, I will have a clean, empty sink. One day, I’ll do dishes before heading to bed. One day, my sink won’t be piled with brightly-colored plastic plates and bowls. One day, every single fork and spoon won’t be dirty. One day, my children will be the ones with toddlers running amok and full sinks.

So today, I choose to smile at these dishes. Today, these dishes represent love.

6 responses to “Loving My Dirty Dishes

  1. machinegunmama says:

    I had an oddly similar morning ✌💙

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovin’ that big yellow bowl between the colander and pot lol…is that a Pyrex bowl? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

