Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

You Deserve to Live

on May 9, 2016

image

I’m tired.

Tired of this charade.

Tired of attempting to squeeze myself into the box that has been constructed by humans over the past couple thousand years.

Tired of this game known as “civilization”.

Tired of living the lie fabricated by these same humans.

The lie that says there is this thing called “money” which we are supposed to want as much of as possible.

The lie that says one human can own a piece of the Earth.

The lie that says one human isn’t “allowed” to plant food on another human’s “property”, even if it’s not being used.

The lie that says one human can’t merely exist without owing another human some form of monetary compensation.

The lie that there are lines drawn around the Earth that divide one group of humans from another.

The lie that one human has the “right” to kill another human for crossing one of those imaginary lines.

I’m tired.

This is not how humans are supposed to live.

This is unnatural.

This is unhealthy.

We are killing ourselves with stress.

Stress.

The stress of constantly worrying about this imaginary thing called “money” that rules our very existence.

We are indoctrinated to believe that we must have money in order to live, that one cannot happen without the other.

We must have money for houses and cars, food and clothes, electricity and water, furniture and electronics, entertainment and insurance.

And if we don’t believe these lies, we are led to believe that we have “failed”.

We are a “waste of life”.

I disagree.

The lies…the money, the possessions, the civilization… they are the waste of life.

I’m tired of wasting my life.

I want freedom.

True freedom.

Not the packaged, branded, government-approved, flag-waving, war-mongering, false freedom that has been sold to us by that same small group of humans who drew imaginary lines over the face of the planet we all live on.

No.

I want to be truly free.

Free to walk wherever my feet take me.

Free to use whichever plants my hands can grasp, for the benefit of my body.

Free to lay my head wherever it happens to be when I am tired.

Free to choose not to spend my days perpetuating the lies that these humans around me so blindly accept as truth.

But are they so blind?

Can they really not see?

Do they really not feel what I feel?

Are they really not aware that this web of lies exists?

No, they know.

They are aware.

They can feel it, too.

They are merely hiding their eyes under a blanket of security.

They are afraid.

Afraid to pull the blanket away and see the world for what it truly is.

They have been told that the world is a terrifying place.

Full of disaster and death.

Perhaps that is the lie that got us into this mess to begin with.

Perhaps when a handful of humans decided that their nomadic hunter-gatherer lives should transform into stationary agriculture and land possession, that lie was actually true.

Perhaps they had good reason to be afraid of disaster and death.

I don’t doubt they had good intentions.

But the threat they might have faced has long since passed.

We no longer need to live in fear of what might happen.

We have the technology and knowledge to live in pretty much any way we desire.

We are capable of attaining true freedom.

The catch is that your freedom cannot hinge upon the enslavement of another.

We all are a part of this Earth.

We are all born, live, and die here.

To deny anyone the right to true freedom is to deny them the right to exist.

I don’t pretend to have all the answers.

I have many ideas, but none of them is ultimately “right” or “wrong”.

What I do know is that whichever solutions we collectively enact, they must be accessible to all.

No human has the right to deny another human true freedom.

This Earth, and everything in it, cannot belong to one or two or ten or a million humans.

This Earth belongs to us all.

All we have to do is let go of the fear that drives us.

Those humans who want us to perpetuate their lies, they rely on our fear to control us.

It is our own fear that imprisons us.

Without that fear, nothing can claim power over us.

Releasing your fear is the first step to achieving true freedom.

You deserve to live a life free from fear.

You deserve to live.

Sometimes I feel the fear of the uncertainty stinging clear
And I can’t help but ask myself how much I’ll let the fear take the wheel and steer

It’s driven me before, and it seems to have a vague
Haunting mass appeal
Lately I’m beginning to find that I should be the one behind the wheel

Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there
With open arms and open eyes, yeah
Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there, I’ll be there

So if I decide to waiver my chance to be one of the hive
Will I choose water over wine and hold my own and drive, oh oh
It’s driven me before, and it seems to be the way
That everyone else gets around
Lately, I’m beginning to find that when I drive myself, my light is found

Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there
With open arms and open eyes, yeah
Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there, I’ll be there

Would you choose water over wine… hold the wheel and drive?

Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there
With open arms and open eyes, yeah
Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there, I’ll be there

Incubus, “Drive”

Leave a Reply

