Blissfully Informed Hippie Chick

Encouraging people to think critically about everything.

“Proper English”

on July 13, 2017

“Proper English” is one of the many tools of supremacy conciousness.

A Facebook friend of mine said this today. 

I had never thought of it from this perspective before. I have a confession to make…

I’m a Grammar Nazi.

I am constantly finding grammatical and spelling errors in newspapers, books, magazines, etc. It drives me crazy. “I should be their editor!” I shriek. But why? Why do I fucking care if they forgot to use a period or misspelled words? I have another confession to make…

I’m hanging onto the usage of “it’s” as a possessive and not just a contraction. It was used that way up until about 200 years ago, when the apostrophe was dropped and used for contractions only. I think it makes more sense the old way. Which brings me to another confession…

I love old writings with the original spellings and grammar intact. I love them because it gives us this amazing glimpse into the evolution of language. They show us how we acquired this language we now know as English. We see how expansion of language, especially English, took off with things like conquests and the invention of the printing press. New words, new ways of spelling words, new sentence structures; all began to evolve at a rapid pace during these times. Isn’t that what we’re seeing now? With the advent of the internet, and then email, chatting, online news, blogs, MySpace, Facebook, YouTube, Snapchat, and every other method of sharing information online, we have likely entered the largest explosion of language evolution we’ve ever seen. Words and acronyms are being created and accepted by the general population at a rapid pace. This explosion of language is incredible! People from all over the world are coming here, right now, to read my blog! Wow! I love that, too! Confession time again…

My ridiculous habit of finding errors in what I know is a beautiful, fluid art form (I’m talking about writing here) is a symptom of my anxiety. It stems from a need to control. I have been fighting all my various urges to control for years now. Today, I learned of yet another. 

And so, I would like to hereby resign my position as Grammar Nazi. I vow that, from this day forth, I will do my best to be aware of my urges to control others’ artistic expression. I will try to remember that we could very well be birthing a universal human language here. Wow. Let that sink in. Wouldn’t that be incredible? Or perhaps even better, through technology, we will have our universal translators at last! Each language could be preserved, in it’s intricate uniqueness, and yet we could still understand each other. That’s a beautiful thought…

Until then, I’m embracing this evolutionary tide. (I’m also keeping my dictionaries…of which I have several, of various publication dates.)

2 responses to ““Proper English”

  1. webbermd says:

    Blissfully, I too want to present myself in the best grammatical light as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

